A group of over 40 faculty will serve as PhD supervisors for this Centre for Doctoral Training. We believe that breakthroughs in NLP require an interdisciplinary approach, so our faculty are drawn from Informatics, Linguistics, Psychology, and Design. CDT faculty have attracted international recognition for excellence, with two ACL Fellows, one ACL lifetime achievement award recipient, two IEEE Fellows, four RSE Fellows, two BCS Fellows, two past Presidents of the ACL, one past chair of the Cognitive Science Society, and eight ERC grant holders (five of them current).

Natural language processing
Adam Lopez
Alex Lascarides
Alexandra Birch
Bonnie Webber
Chris Lucas
Frank Keller
Henry S Thompson
Johanna Moore
Ivan Titov
Julian Bradfield
Kenneth Heafield
Mark Steedman
Mirella Lapata
Sharon Goldwater
Shay Cohen
Walid Magdy
Spoken language processing
Hiroshi Shimodaira
Junichi Yamagishi
Korin Richmond
Simon King
Steve Renals
Peter Bell
Alice Turk
Antonella Sorace
Caroline Heycock
Hannah Rohde
Jennifer Culbertson
James Kirby
Kenny Smith
Lauren Hall-Lew
Rob Truswell
Josef Fruehwald
Geoff Pullum
Design and Human-Computer Interaction
Benjamin Bach
Ewan Klein
Helen Pain
Kami Vaniea
Maria Wolters
Alex Doumas
Holly Branigan
Hugh Rabagliati
Martin Corley
Martin Pickering
Patrick Sturt
Neil Bramley
Paul Hoffman
Machine learning and applications involving language
Kobi Gal
Michael Gutmann
Stefano Albrecht
Timothy Hospedales
Vaishak Belle
Laura Sevilla-Lara
Hakan Bilen